New Adult Fiction

New York Skyline
Skyline for New York City

Here’s an interesting note that I found on the Query Tracker blog. It is actually an announcement and link to the fine folks at St. Martin’s Press, who are sponsoring an agent pitching contest. (N0, you don’t get to toss any agents around, just submit a proposal) However, if you are interested in submitting  a pitch to St. Martin’s, you are too late because the contest is closing as I write this entry.

However, if you are an aspiring author who writes just above the YA level this this contest is still very good news, because it represents a new and developing trend among adult readers under 30. Let me quote from the editorial staff at St. Martin’s who run the blog and are hosting the contest.

We are actively looking for great, new, cutting edge fiction with protagonists who are slightly older than YA and can appeal to an adult audience. Since twenty-somethings are devouring YA, St. Martin’s Press is seeking fiction similar to YA that can be published and marketed as adult—a sort of an “older YA” or “new adult.”

That kind of says it all, as far as I am concerned, it is very good news for both writers and book publishers like St. Martin’s. It also means that the younger reader is not only smarter than the literary world has realized, but that they are reading more fiction than previously thought. From this point it only goes to surmise that this genre is a growing market for writers, who wish to take Young Adult fiction to the next level. This is also good news for young writers who wish to write for their own peer group.

St. Mark' Place
St. Mark's Place in New York City

Hopefully this new genre which the St. Martin’s staff has labeled as “new adult fiction” will develop into a cutting edge genre. Anyway you look at it, the fact that young adults are into a more sophisticated literature is good news.

2 thoughts on “New Adult Fiction

  1. I wish I knew about the St. Martin’s contest earlier (I’d have tried pitching my coming-of-age blog novel). Greetings from Maine too (born in/grew up in Singapore)!

    P.S. Was wondering how/why you got your latest posts to show up at the bottom, on the homepage? First time I’ve seen that ^^.

    1. I found out about St. Matin’s link through the Query Tracker blog, where often such contests are listed. They are at http://www.querytracker.net. I don’t why my latest post go to the bottom of the page – I guess I’ll have to check my wordpress settings. and also, Singapore sounds like a fun place to grow up. Everybody that I’ve ever met who has lived there seems to be really friendly.

      Best regards,

Leave a Reply

