“A Self Appointed Inspector of Snowstorms”

What Is Space? by h.koppdelaney

“For many years I was self-appointed inspector of snow-storms and rain-storms, and did my duty faithfully; surveyor, if not of highways, then of forest paths and all across- lot routes, keeping them open, and ravines bridged and passable at all seasons, where the public heel had testified to their utility.”  Henry David Thoreau

Now that’s a nice job description for a great job. Fortunately, it’s one that has me gainfully employed for the entire winter.  And it is a task that I will able to fulfill on a fairly regular basis, especially since I live over a hundred miles north from Walden Pond, the famous place, where Henry David once lived.

On the down side,  it doesn’t pay very much, but that little piece of trivia seems relatively meaningless on a sunny day the day after a snowstorm. Over the course of a winter, money does matter, so I have to resort to other things to make ends meet, but still, I enjoy my outdoor work immensely.

Windbeeches
Windbeeches on the Schauinsland in the Black Forest, photo by Richard Fabi (Wikipedia Commons)

These days it seems that I make about as much money inspecting snowstorms, as I do blogging. That’s my choice. Somehow I just can’t seem to get around to placing one of those adds on my site.When I take a look at the blogs I visit, many seem to form in the category of free advertising. So, I’ll pass on monetizing my blog for now, but I will throw in the keywords just for shits and giggles.

Of the two types of moneyless employment, I much prefer the outdoor walk through the snowy woods. The fresh air and the escape from the computer screen are a much needed commodity in my life, especially since I quit my day job.

Here are a few pictures of winter from around the globe that come your way courtesy of creative commons. Ordinarily, I would post my own pictures, but my camera has come up absent as of late, so enjoy these images.

Blue Jay
Blue Jay (Cyanocitta cristata) – Algonquin Provincial Park, Canada by MDF (Wikipedia Commons)
Leave a Reply

