Leaving Las Vegas

Las Vegas bail bonds ad
Las Vegas abounds with bail bondsmen. Fortunately, I escaped without need of any of their services.

Extended Stay

I never expected that my three-day visit to Las Vegas, NV would turn into a three week overnight stay, where most of waking hours were devoted to my job search. Overall, Las Vegas is a pretty strange city, at least to someone there on his/her first visit. My initial impression was how large the place is and then there was the ever-present desert, which on this part of the planet, was very dry and quite extensive. The population of Las Vegas is almost two million and overall the city is described as being the driest county in the driest state of the union. In fact, why I was there, it barely rained, with much of that moisture being re-evaporated into the air by means of walking rain. During my visit I was fascinated by the city, but this was often negated by the emotional stress involved in trying to find a job in a state with 12% unemployment.

Mission Church in New Mexico
Mission Church in New Mexico

Out of the Mission

As time went on and my job searches continued to yield no fruit, I had to shift my living quarters from a hostel to a Christian Rescue Mission. The price was right and contrary to my expectations, the required religious services were quite enjoyable, due to the outstanding musical contributions from a dozen or so of inspired and very talented musicians. However my love of music and by easy going nature could not prevent me from being kicked out of the place, for arriving late to check-in on my last night. This merely meant that my planned departure got bumped forward by 24 hours.

Supermoon
Supermoon

Night of the Super Moon

My eviction came at 4:15 on Saturday afternoon, so I picked up my bags and took a local bus to Boulder City, a Nevada city located just a few miles from the Arizona border, where hitchhiking was legal. The bus contained only a few passengers, but one adventurous soul had brought his mountain bike with him, so he could observe the rare astronomical event from a desert mountain. The “supermoon” arose 9p.m. and true to its name lit of the desert countryside like a Fourth of July flare. From the side of the highway, the night landscape came alive under the reflected sunlight from orbiting sphere. The light from the full moon made my nocturnal hike to Boulder Dam, all the more stunning, as the moon cast its glare on the rough mountain terrain. Finally around midnight, I set up my tent and crawled inside. However, the intense lunar glare made it hard to sleep. Still, I had  a lot to be grateful for: I had left Las Vegas without incident.


Leave a Reply

