“One lazy man is a disgrace, two is a law firm, and three is a congress”.

The Outer Shells of Centaurus A
The Outer Shells of Centaurus A
Image Credit: E. Peng and H. Ford (JHU), K. Freeman (ANU), R. White (STScI), CTIO, NOAO, NSF

The Literary Agent

The above quotation comes from John Adams in the play entitled, 1776. This ear-catching quote appeared on Michael Larsen’s blog, yesterday in regards to the Fourth of July. If you have not heard of Michael Larsen, he is a highly regarded literary agent with the Larsen-Pomada Literary Agency. I am particularly fond of this small organization because one of the agents asked for a partial on my novel. Unfortunately, all I got was a form letter rejection after I sent the written material, but that was enough to endear me to the agency.

1776

In case you haven’t heard of 1776, it is a Broadway musical that ran for over a thousand performances beginning in 1969. The show also received a few Tony nominations and awards. Today, it is kind of hard to imagine guys like Benjamin Franklin, John Hancock and Thomas Jefferson singing in unison, but perhaps forty years ago this made more sense. Also of note the quotation seems so 20th century and in fact upon doing some preliminary research, I could not find any such collection of words attributed to the famous patriot. Still, the words make for interesting banter on this summertime holiday.

Quotes From Movies, Plays and Musicals

Still, the quote from the New York show got me looking around to see what other quotes I could gather up from the make-believe world of theatrical performances. Following are some of my favorites.

“I’m the only “cause” I’m interested in.”  Humphrey Bogart as Rick in Casablanca

“I once asked a literary agent what writing paid the best, and he said, “Ransom notes.” – Gene Hackman as Harry Zimm in Get Shorty

“Do, or do not. There is no ‘try’ “  Yoda in Star Wars

“I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I coulda been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am, let’s face it.” Marlo Brando, as Terry Malloy in On the Waterfront

And here’s another one from Rick in Casablanca,  “Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world, she walks into mine.”

Hope you enjoyed these and have a great Fourth of July weekend, which doesn’t really get started until Friday.

Leave a Reply

