Have a Jolly, Jolly Christmas

Christmas Brings Union, A political cartoon from 1887, from Wkikpedia
Christmas Brings Union, A political cartoon from 1887, from Wkikpedia

Strange Word

Jolly is one of those strange words that only seems appropriate during week long holiday period that occurs at the end of each year. In particular in seems tied to one particular fellow….and that is ole Saint Nick, himself. Burl Ives tied his own rotund self with the word, when he released “Holly, Jolly Christmas”, way back in 1965.

Too Much Horror

I enjoyed writing my little Christmas horror story, ( here is the link ) but now that Christmas is almost here, it is time to share a little joy and humour. After all that is what the holiday is all about. (my apologies to anybody that believes that Jesus was actually born on December 25). Besides, there is way too much horror going around in the world today and we may need a break from all those gruesome headlines. This may be fertile and lucrative ground for horror and suspense writers, but the everyday “Joe” ( or Jill ) needs some fun in his life. Following is my small contribution to the holiday mayhem.

Quotes

1. “One thing I learned from drinking is that if you ever go Christmas caroling, you should go with a group of people. And also go in mid-December.” — Louis C.K.

2. “Santa Claus has the right idea. Visit people once a year.”  – Victor Borge

3. “Tis Christmas I’ve decided to put mistletoe in my back pocket, so all the people I don’t like can kiss my ass.” from Pinterest, author unknown

4. “What I don’t like about Christmas parties is looking for a job the next day.”-  Phyllis Diller

5. “Aren’t we forgetting the true meaning of Christmas? You know the birth of Santa.” Matt Groening via Bart Simpson

6. “The one thing women don’t want to find in their stockings on Christmas morning is their husband.” – Joan Rivers

7. “Out upon merry Christmas! What’s Christmas time to you but a time for paying bills without money; a time for finding yourself a year older, but not an hour richer…? If I could work my will,” said Scrooge indignantly, “every idiot who goes about with ‘Merry Christmas’ upon his lips should be boiled with his won pudding, and buried with a stake of holly through his heart. He should!” – Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

8. “There has been only one Christmas — the rest are anniversaries.” – W.J. Cameron

9. “I don’t mind fruitcakes. They’re the one thing during the holidays I’m not tempted to eat.” – Melanie White

10. “The two most joyous times of the year are Christmas morning and the end of school.” – Alice Cooper

11. “I once bought my kids a set of batteries for Christmas with a note on it saying: ‘Toys not included.’ ” – Bernard Manning

12. “I felt overstuffed and dull and disappointed, the way I always do the day after Christmas.” – Sylvia Plath

13. “It snowed last year too: I made a snowman and my brother knocked it down and I knocked my brother down and then we had tea.” – Dylan Thomas, A Child’s Christmas in Wales

14. “The Four Stages of Life.

          a. You believe in Santa Claus.

          b. You don’t believe in Santa Claus.

         c. You are Santa Claus.

         d. You look like Santa Claus.”      from Pinterest, author unknown

Leave a Reply

