Nostalgia

I found this VW painted on a fence in Las Vegas and it brought memories of when my father bought a brand new VW bug for 1300 dollars in 1960, photo by author.
I found this VW painted on a fence in Las Vegas and it brought memories of when my father bought a brand new VW bug for 1300 dollars in 1960, photo by author.

Nostalgia

Back in 1960, Volkswagens or the people’s car as my father liked to call it, weren’t very common. So many times when we passed another VW bug on the road, we would honk at the other car and almost always, the other vehicle would return the favor. More often than not this method of recognition was initiated by the other driver.

Anyway our little beetle (pre John. Paul, George and Ringo by a year or two) lasted for 100,000 miles at which time my father had a rebuilt engine inserted into the vehicle. Since I had two younger brothers, many times I had to share the back seat, whenever we went somewhere as a family.

Eventually, our little two door was replaced by a station wagon, but the sight of a “bug” on the round, usually triggers of my father, who passed away 15 years ago.

 

Nostalgia

View my Flipboard Magazine.

3 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. The good old days, when the engine was still in the back. I had a ’75 Super Beetle that ran for well over 100,000 miles. Loved it! Volkswagen (pronounced Folksvagen in German) does mean “the People’s Car” and was the idea of Hitler, who wanted a car the people could afford. I guess in some ways it was their version of the Model-T.

    janet

  2. Thanks for the comments and yes I do believe the VW bug was a creation of the Third Reich. I heard somewhere along the line that the body shape was nothing more than a cut-out from an airplane wing.

Leave a Reply

